• The Transforming Word Series Volume 1: The Pentateuch: From Genesis to Deuteronomy

The Transforming Word Series Volume 1: The Pentateuch: From Genesis to Deuteronomy

$ 27.99

God the Creator reveals his true nature in the first five books of the Bible.

While the broader story of the Bible--how God takes the first steps in reconciling the world--is known to many Christians, careful readers of the Pentateuch still have many questions. The first five books of the Bible are filled with violence, oppression, and human suffering. The story of the origin of the Jewish nation is one of hardship and loss. The Transforming Word series doesn’t shy away from any of the details but will encourage you to examine the Scriptures more closely and discover the God who sustains everything.

This commentary series draws from the best in recent scholarship and is designed for the everyday student of the Bible who is looking for an up-to-date, go-to resource as they read and study.


Mark W. Hamilton (PhD, Harvard University) holds the Onstead Chair in the College of Biblical Studies at Abilene Christian University, where he serves as professor of Old Testament. His other books include Jesus King of Strangers and Slavery's Long Shadow: Race and Reconciliation in American Christianity.


“Critically informed but written for popular use, the Transforming Word demonstrates steady scholarship in service of the church. Leaders in every congregation, especially Bible teachers and small group leaders, will want it within easy reach in the Bible study aids section of their bookshelf.”

—William R. Baker, Editor of the Stone-Campbell Journal; Professor of New Testament, Hope International University


ISBN 9781684262311

Pages 288

Dimensions (inches) 6 x 9

Weight (pounds) .5 

Related Products

{{#products}} {{/products}}

Recently Viewed